How many counties are in illinois?

There are 102 counties in the state of Illinois. Cook County is the only autonomous county in Illinois. There are 102 counties in Illinois. All counties are functioning government units; each is governed by a board with between 5 and 29 members.

There are a total of 102 counties in the state of Illinois. Clair County is the oldest (established in 1790), while Douglas County is the youngest (established in 185. With a population of 5,194,675, Cook County is the most populated). The largest county by land area is McLean County (3,067 km) and the smallest is Putnam County (414 km). Below, see all of the counties in Illinois that are listed alphabetically.

Ballotpedia provides comprehensive coverage of elections in the 100 largest cities in the United States by population and the largest counties that overlap those cities. This includes all municipal, county, judicial, school district, and special district offices that appear on the ballot of those cities. By default, the following table shows only 25 counties at a time. To change the number of counties shown, use the drop-down menu above the upper left corner of the table.

You can also use the search bar in the upper right corner of the table to search for a specific county. Illinois law provides for a consultative initiative process (non-binding, without legal effect) on public policy issues. A binding referendum is required on limited issues, such as tax liens and bonds (chapter 10 of the Electoral Code, art. Residents of autonomous counties and cities can change their form of government or return to governance based on general law on their own initiative).

Although mostly formal, this process can have some policy effects. For example, under general law, municipal governments face greater restrictions when it comes to raising taxes. Therefore, moving from autonomous law to general law can help limit tax increases. There are 1,710 county subdivisions in Illinois known as minor civil divisions (MCDs); 85 counties have functioning municipalities, but not necessarily active ones, and 17 counties have nonfunctioning electoral districts.

Get a spreadsheet with the most up-to-date information on population, income, housing, and other data for every county in Illinois. Of the 15 counties with fewer than 10,000 residents, Alexander County experienced the most dramatic decline, with a growth rate of -26.15%. Illinois has 72 counties with a population of less than 50,000; all but one (Monroe County) experienced a population decline. According to the Census Bureau, local governments in this state consist of 102 counties, 2,726 cities, towns and villages, and 3,204 special districts.

Jeanine Bleacher
Jeanine Bleacher

Lifelong tv ninja. Proud tv evangelist. Total zombie fanatic. Zombie scholar. Subtly charming bacon scholar.

Leave Reply

All fileds with * are required